batman-adv: Fix duplicated OGMs on NETDEV_UP 475/head
authorSven Eckelmann <sven@narfation.org>
Sun, 2 Jun 2019 09:46:25 +0000 (11:46 +0200)
committerSven Eckelmann <sven@narfation.org>
Sun, 2 Jun 2019 12:08:16 +0000 (14:08 +0200)
commite26096ae1d30864afab48589e9c6dceb715b4020
tree44bc3d4f6ec0324434ded107df4e2e2dc3e0399e
parent1ff00eebae8bf7455203b6580f310d1a14e91b8b
batman-adv: Fix duplicated OGMs on NETDEV_UP

The state of slave interfaces are handled differently depending on whether
the interface is up or not. All active interfaces (IFF_UP) will transmit
OGMs. But for B.A.T.M.A.N. IV, also non-active interfaces are scheduling
(low TTL) OGMs on active interfaces. The code which setups and schedules
the OGMs must therefore already be called when the interfaces gets added as
slave interface and the transmit function must then check whether it has to
send out the OGM or not on the specific slave interface.

But v2016.3 moved the setup code from the enable function to the activate
function. The latter is called either when the added slave was already up
when batadv_hardif_enable_interface processed the new interface or when a
NETDEV_UP event was received for this slave interfac. As result, each
NETDEV_UP would schedule a new OGM worker for the interface and thus OGMs
would be send a lot more than expected.

Fixes: 549909f89dd7 ("batman-adv: upgrade package to latest release 2016.3")
Reported-by: Linus L├╝ssing <linus.luessing@c0d3.blue>
Signed-off-by: Sven Eckelmann <sven@narfation.org>
batman-adv/Makefile
batman-adv/patches/0005-batman-adv-Fix-duplicated-OGMs-on-NETDEV_UP.patch [new file with mode: 0644]