bcm53xx: include Broadcom PHY driver in the kernel
authorRafał Miłecki <rafal@milecki.pl>
Tue, 7 Feb 2017 17:11:17 +0000 (18:11 +0100)
committerRafał Miłecki <rafal@milecki.pl>
Fri, 3 Mar 2017 10:39:49 +0000 (11:39 +0100)
Initial idea was to use package with this PHY driver for devices that
need it. Unfortunately this can't work as bgmac is built-in and PHY
probing happens before loading modules - it results in PHY subsystem
picking default (generic) PHY driver.

There were two ways of solving this:
1) Making bcm53xx use bgmac as module
xor
2) Built-in Broadcom PHY driver

After some quick discussion it seems we can simply built-in the driver
as increased kenel size is relatively small (1805 B).

Signed-off-by: Rafał Miłecki <rafal@milecki.pl>
target/linux/bcm53xx/config-4.4

index bde8be9..723d16a 100644 (file)
@@ -70,10 +70,12 @@ CONFIG_BCMA_HOST_PCI=y
 CONFIG_BCMA_HOST_PCI_POSSIBLE=y
 CONFIG_BCMA_HOST_SOC=y
 CONFIG_BCMA_SFLASH=y
+CONFIG_BCM_NET_PHYLIB=y
 CONFIG_BGMAC=y
 CONFIG_BGMAC_BCMA=y
 # CONFIG_BGMAC_PLATFORM is not set
 CONFIG_BOUNCE=y
+CONFIG_BROADCOM_PHY=y
 CONFIG_CACHE_L2X0=y
 CONFIG_CC_OPTIMIZE_FOR_SIZE=y
 CONFIG_CLKDEV_LOOKUP=y