ramips: TP-Link TL-WR902AC v3: don't build factory image
authorPeter Lundkvist <peter.lundkvist@gmail.com>
Mon, 9 Jul 2018 10:54:17 +0000 (12:54 +0200)
committerMathias Kresin <dev@kresin.me>
Thu, 12 Jul 2018 16:27:36 +0000 (18:27 +0200)
The line that produces factory image was accidentally left by me while
testing before inital commit.

I came to the conclusion that flashing from OEM firmware does not work
(seems to share this behavior with other tplinks based on mt7628).

I have not done any further analysis, as I was unable to open the
case and attach a serial port (too much glue). Maybe i will try once
more.

So the way to do initial flashing (or un-bricking) is to use the
tftp-recover image. It is possible to revert to OEM firmware with tftp
recovery; in this case the first 512 bytes the image file need to be
cut off.

Signed-off-by: Peter Lundkvist <peter.lundkvist@gmail.com>
[add explaination provided via mail as commit message]
Signed-off-by: Mathias Kresin <dev@kresin.me>
target/linux/ramips/image/mt76x8.mk

index 443e1c7..21c5357 100644 (file)
@@ -220,7 +220,6 @@ define Device/tplink_tl-wr902ac-v3
   TPLINK_HWREV := 0x89
   TPLINK_HWREVADD := 0x1
   TPLINK_HVERSION := 3
-  IMAGES += factory.bin
   DEVICE_PACKAGES := kmod-usb2 kmod-usb-ohci kmod-usb-ledtrig-usbport
 endef
 TARGET_DEVICES += tplink_tl-wr902ac-v3