kernel: add KERNEL_DEVMEM and KERNEL_DEVKMEM
authorHauke Mehrtens <hauke@hauke-m.de>
Sat, 17 Dec 2016 14:00:59 +0000 (15:00 +0100)
committerHauke Mehrtens <hauke@hauke-m.de>
Sat, 24 Dec 2016 13:55:35 +0000 (14:55 +0100)
These options are needed to create /dev/mem or /dev/kmem .
/dev/mem is needed by the io tool to access raw hardware memory, which
is helpful when debugging and developing drivers.

Signed-off-by: Hauke Mehrtens <hauke@hauke-m.de>
Acked-by: John Crispin <john@phrozen.org>
config/Config-kernel.in

index 3c69c86..3f30013 100644 (file)
@@ -745,3 +745,17 @@ menu "Filesystem ACL and attr support options"
                default y if USE_FS_ACL_ATTR
 
 endmenu
+
+config KERNEL_DEVMEM
+       bool "/dev/mem virtual device support"
+       help
+         Say Y here if you want to support the /dev/mem device.
+         The /dev/mem device is used to access areas of physical
+         memory.
+
+config KERNEL_DEVKMEM
+       bool "/dev/kmem virtual device support"
+       help
+         Say Y here if you want to support the /dev/kmem device. The
+         /dev/kmem device is rarely used, but can be used for certain
+         kind of kernel debugging operations.