ag71xx: Move timestamp struct member outside of struct.
authorRosen Penev <rosenp@gmail.com>
Wed, 7 Feb 2018 21:57:30 +0000 (13:57 -0800)
committerFelix Fietkau <nbd@nbd.name>
Wed, 28 Feb 2018 11:46:02 +0000 (12:46 +0100)
With this change, the timestamp variable is only used in ag71xx_check_dma_stuck. Small tx speedup.

Based on a Qualcomm commit. ag->timestamp = jiffies was not replaced with netif_trans_update(dev) because of this quote:

It should be noted that after this series several instances
of netif_trans_update() are useless (if they occur in
.ndo_start_xmit and driver doesn't set LLTX flag -- stack already
did an update).

From: http://lists.openwall.net/netdev/2016/05/03/87

Signed-off-by: Rosen Penev <rosenp@gmail.com>
target/linux/ar71xx/files/drivers/net/ethernet/atheros/ag71xx/ag71xx.h
target/linux/ar71xx/files/drivers/net/ethernet/atheros/ag71xx/ag71xx_main.c

index 38dcc91..35318fb 100644 (file)
@@ -169,8 +169,6 @@ struct ag71xx {
        struct napi_struct      napi;
        u32                     msg_enable;
 
-       unsigned long   timestamp;
-
        /*
         * From this point onwards we're not looking at per-packet fields.
         */
index 47b4c69..95682b7 100644 (file)
@@ -816,7 +816,6 @@ static netdev_tx_t ag71xx_hard_start_xmit(struct sk_buff *skb,
        i = (ring->curr + n - 1) & ring_mask;
        ring->buf[i].len = skb->len;
        ring->buf[i].skb = skb;
-       ag->timestamp = jiffies;
 
        netdev_sent_queue(dev, skb->len);
 
@@ -928,9 +927,11 @@ static void ag71xx_restart_work_func(struct work_struct *work)
 
 static bool ag71xx_check_dma_stuck(struct ag71xx *ag)
 {
+       unsigned long timestamp;
        u32 rx_sm, tx_sm, rx_fd;
 
-       if (likely(time_before(jiffies, ag->timestamp + HZ/10)))
+       timestamp = netdev_get_tx_queue(ag->dev, 0)->trans_start;
+       if (likely(time_before(jiffies, timestamp + HZ/10)))
                return false;
 
        if (!netif_carrier_ok(ag->dev))