Revert "ar71xx: ag71xx: Prevent kernel oops for board def"
authorJo-Philipp Wich <jo@mein.io>
Wed, 1 Aug 2018 20:33:49 +0000 (22:33 +0200)
committerJo-Philipp Wich <jo@mein.io>
Wed, 1 Aug 2018 20:34:22 +0000 (22:34 +0200)
This reverts commit 7a3e133751870a3431e2430386a77a002eb24117.

This change reportedly breaks connectivity on some ar71xx devices, so
revert it for now.

Ref: https://github.com/openwrt/openwrt/pull/1217#issuecomment-409708087
Reported-by: Hannu Nyman <hannu.nyman@iki.fi>
Signed-off-by: Jo-Philipp Wich <jo@mein.io>
target/linux/ar71xx/files/drivers/net/ethernet/atheros/ag71xx/ag71xx_phy.c

index daa373b..12fa2e3 100644 (file)
@@ -76,24 +76,10 @@ void ag71xx_phy_stop(struct ag71xx *ag)
 
 static int ag71xx_phy_connect_fixed(struct ag71xx *ag)
 {
-       struct platform_device *pdev = ag->pdev;
-       struct device *dev = NULL;
+       struct device *dev = &ag->pdev->dev;
        struct ag71xx_platform_data *pdata = ag71xx_get_pdata(ag);
        int ret = 0;
 
-       if (!pdev)
-               return -ENODEV;
-
-       dev = &pdev->dev;
-
-       if (!dev)
-               return -ENODEV;
-
-       if (!ag->phy_dev) {
-               pr_err("Missing PHY for %s", dev_name(dev));
-               return -ENODEV;
-       }
-
        /* use fixed settings */
        switch (pdata->speed) {
        case SPEED_10: