rpcd: fix respawn settings
authorPetr Štetiar <ynezz@true.cz>
Thu, 5 Mar 2020 08:33:52 +0000 (09:33 +0100)
committerHauke Mehrtens <hauke@hauke-m.de>
Sun, 29 Mar 2020 16:47:26 +0000 (18:47 +0200)
Commit 432ec292ccc8 ("rpcd: add respawn param") has introduced infinite
restarting of the service which could be reached over network. This is
not recommended security practice as it might give potential adversary
infinite number of tries in case there might be some issue in the rpcd
or its surrounding stack.

So lets remove the currently bogus `respawn_retry` variable (it wasn't
possible to override it anyway), reverting to the previous default max.
of 5 service restarts which could be now overriden via system's UCI
settings if desired.

Cc: Jo-Philip Wich <jow@mein.io>
Cc: Florian Eckert <fe@dev.tdt.de>
Cc: Hauke Mehrtens <hauke@hauke-m.de>
Fixes: 432ec292ccc8 ("rpcd: add respawn param")
Signed-off-by: Petr Štetiar <ynezz@true.cz>
(cherry picked from commit 52e6fb13692986c76fd32159fb9fc82d712a5c3f)

package/system/rpcd/files/rpcd.init

index b1061b9..4c701a2 100755 (executable)
@@ -12,7 +12,7 @@ start_service() {
 
        procd_open_instance
        procd_set_param command "$PROG" ${socket:+-s "$socket"} ${timeout:+-t "$timeout"}
-       procd_set_param respawn ${respawn_retry:-0}
+       procd_set_param respawn
        procd_close_instance
 }