ramips: fix image generation for mt76x8
authorKoen Vandeputte <koen.vandeputte@ncentric.com>
Tue, 6 Nov 2018 14:10:17 +0000 (15:10 +0100)
committerKoen Vandeputte <koen.vandeputte@ncentric.com>
Tue, 6 Nov 2018 14:29:51 +0000 (15:29 +0100)
Buildbot fails to generate images for targets also generating a
Sercomm binary with following error:

Opening file: /mnt/ramdisk/koen/firmware/builds/owrt_mt76x8/build_dir/target-mipsel_24kc_musl/linux-ramips_mt76x8/tmp/openwrt-ramips-mt76x8-netgear_r6120-squashfs-factory.img.rootfs.zip
Filesize: 3648606 .
mksercommfw: malloc.c:2427: sysmalloc: Assertion `(old_top == initial_top (av) && old_size == 0) || ((unsigned long) (old_size) >= MINSIZE && prev_inuse (old_top) && ((unsigned long) old_end & (pagesize - 1)) == 0)' failed.
Makefile:287: recipe for target '/mnt/ramdisk/koen/firmware/builds/owrt_mt76x8/build_dir/target-mipsel_24kc_musl/linux-ramips_mt76x8/tmp/openwrt-ramips-mt76x8-netgear_r6120-squashfs-factory.img' failed

Debugging using valgrind shows stack corruption due to a buffer overflow.
The author of the generator assumes the filename ends with "root",
while it should be "rootfs".

Fix this by accounting for the 2 missing characters which solves the build issues.

More work is required to cleanup this source, which will be done later on.

Reported-by: Hannu Nyman <hannu.nyman@iki.fi>
Signed-off-by: Koen Vandeputte <koen.vandeputte@ncentric.com>
tools/firmware-utils/src/mksercommfw.c

index 7f31d4f..ccd5d67 100644 (file)
@@ -208,7 +208,7 @@ int main(int argc, char *argv[])
 #endif
        /* now that we got the rootfs, repeat the whole thing again(sorta):
         * 1. zip the rootfs */
-       char *zipper = malloc(5 + 2*strlen(rootfs.file_name) + 4);
+       char *zipper = malloc(5 + 2*strlen(rootfs.file_name) + 6);
        sprintf(zipper, "%s %s %s", "zip ", zipfsname, rootfs.file_name);
        int ret = system(zipper);