include/download.mk: Use -7e compression instead of -6 by default
authorDaniel Engberg <daniel.engberg.lists@pyret.net>
Tue, 4 Oct 2016 11:36:53 +0000 (06:36 -0500)
committerJo-Philipp Wich <jo@mein.io>
Wed, 5 Oct 2016 13:15:19 +0000 (15:15 +0200)
Adds a slightly higher compression level to xz by default which roughly raises memory usage from 100MiB to about 200MiB during compression, about 10MiB for decompression. (Source: xz manpage)

Signed-off-by: Daniel Engberg <daniel.engberg.lists@pyret.net>
include/download.mk

index 227612d..2797e90 100644 (file)
@@ -35,7 +35,7 @@ endef
 # code for creating tarballs from cvs/svn/git/bzr/hg/darcs checkouts - useful for mirror support
 dl_pack/bz2=$(TAR) --owner=0 --group=0 --sort=name $$$${TAR_TIMESTAMP:+--mtime="$$$$TAR_TIMESTAMP"} -cjf $(1) $(2)
 dl_pack/gz=$(TAR) --owner=0 --group=0 --sort=name $$$${TAR_TIMESTAMP:+--mtime="$$$$TAR_TIMESTAMP"} -c $(2) | gzip -nc > $(1)
-dl_pack/xz=$(TAR) --owner=0 --group=0 --sort=name $$$${TAR_TIMESTAMP:+--mtime="$$$$TAR_TIMESTAMP"} -c $(2) | xz -zc > $(1)
+dl_pack/xz=$(TAR) --owner=0 --group=0 --sort=name $$$${TAR_TIMESTAMP:+--mtime="$$$$TAR_TIMESTAMP"} -c $(2) | xz -zc -7e > $(1)
 dl_pack/unknown=echo "ERROR: Unknown pack format for file $(1)"; false
 define dl_pack
        $(if $(dl_pack/$(call ext,$(1))),$(dl_pack/$(call ext,$(1))),$(dl_pack/unknown))