ath79: mikrotik: use vmlinuz (zBoot ELF)
authorJohn Thomson <git@johnthomson.fastmail.com.au>
Thu, 15 Oct 2020 09:27:55 +0000 (19:27 +1000)
committerChuanhong Guo <gch981213@gmail.com>
Thu, 29 Oct 2020 13:35:03 +0000 (21:35 +0800)
- minimal built initramfs: 10MB vmlinux ELF -> 6MB vmlinuz
- ~5 seconds for kernel decompression, which was equivalent to the
  additional time to load the uncompressed ELF from SPI NOR.
- Removes requirement for lzma-loader, which may have been causing some
  image builds to fail to boot on Mikrotik mt7621.

Suggested-by: Thibaut VARĂˆNE <hacks@slashdirt.org>
Signed-off-by: John Thomson <git@johnthomson.fastmail.com.au>
target/linux/ath79/image/common-mikrotik.mk
target/linux/ath79/mikrotik/target.mk

index 9ac89fd..b0c3fed 100644 (file)
@@ -1,8 +1,8 @@
 define Device/mikrotik
        DEVICE_VENDOR := MikroTik
-       LOADER_TYPE := elf
-       KERNEL := kernel-bin | append-dtb | lzma | loader-kernel
-       KERNEL_INITRAMFS := kernel-bin | append-dtb | lzma | loader-kernel
+       KERNEL_NAME := vmlinuz
+       KERNEL := kernel-bin | append-dtb-elf
+       KERNEL_INITRAMFS := kernel-bin | append-dtb-elf
 endef
 
 define Device/mikrotik_nor
index 0394f44..fb5171f 100644 (file)
@@ -1,5 +1,7 @@
 BOARDNAME := MikroTik devices
 FEATURES += minor nand squashfs
+KERNELNAME := vmlinux vmlinuz
+IMAGES_DIR := ../../..
 
 DEFAULT_PACKAGES += wpad-basic-wolfssl