netifd: add support for suppressing the DHCP request hostname by setting it to *
authorFelix Fietkau <nbd@nbd.name>
Wed, 13 Mar 2019 11:45:13 +0000 (12:45 +0100)
committerFelix Fietkau <nbd@nbd.name>
Sat, 16 Mar 2019 18:59:02 +0000 (19:59 +0100)
dnsmasq (and probably other DHCP servers as well) does not like to hand out
leases with duplicate host names.
Adding support for skipping the hostname makes it easier to deploy setups
where it is not guaranteed to be unique

Signed-off-by: Felix Fietkau <nbd@nbd.name>
package/network/config/netifd/files/lib/netifd/proto/dhcp.sh

index a2b0cce..0d06eba 100755 (executable)
@@ -46,6 +46,8 @@ proto_dhcp_setup() {
        json_for_each_item proto_dhcp_add_sendopts sendopts dhcpopts
 
        [ -z "$hostname" ] && hostname="$(cat /proc/sys/kernel/hostname)"
+       [ "$hostname" = "*" ] && hostname=
+
        [ "$defaultreqopts" = 0 ] && defaultreqopts="-o" || defaultreqopts=
        [ "$broadcast" = 1 ] && broadcast="-B" || broadcast=
        [ "$release" = 1 ] && release="-R" || release=