brcm47xx: switch to the kernel 4.14
authorRafał Miłecki <rafal@milecki.pl>
Sat, 5 May 2018 22:06:14 +0000 (00:06 +0200)
committerRafał Miłecki <rafal@milecki.pl>
Tue, 8 May 2018 07:55:10 +0000 (09:55 +0200)
The biggest (and the only?) disadventage of this is obviously an
increased image size.

For mips74k the size of vmlinux goes up from 4186684 B to 4701436 B.
Most devices use LZMA compressed kernel so probably more important is
vmlinux.lzma size which goes up from 1342945 B to the 1508498 B.

Still this isn't something that should stop target kernel bump. There
are various adventages of kernel 4.14. If kernel / image size is a
serious concern for anyone, it's perfectly possible to use previous
release which is pretty solid for the brcm47xx.

Signed-off-by: Rafał Miłecki <rafal@milecki.pl>
Cc: Paul Wassi <p.wassi@gmx.at>
Cc: Hauke Mehrtens <hauke@hauke-m.de>
target/linux/brcm47xx/Makefile

index f0ac7f9..484f314 100644 (file)
@@ -13,7 +13,7 @@ FEATURES:=squashfs usb
 SUBTARGETS:=generic mips74k legacy
 MAINTAINER:=Hauke Mehrtens <hauke@hauke-m.de>
 
-KERNEL_PATCHVER:=4.9
+KERNEL_PATCHVER:=4.14
 
 define Target/Description
        Build firmware images for Broadcom based BCM47xx/53xx routers with MIPS CPU, *not* ARM.