config: add config option for KERNEL_TASKSTATS
authorJeremiah McConnell <miah@miah.com>
Wed, 20 Jun 2018 05:35:08 +0000 (23:35 -0600)
committerHauke Mehrtens <hauke@hauke-m.de>
Sat, 7 Jul 2018 16:33:57 +0000 (18:33 +0200)
In order for monitoring tools such as atop and htop to track and report
i/o data, kernel support for task statistics and io accounting is
required.

Add a config option to enable building this support in the kernel.

Signed-off-by: Jeremiah McConnell <miah@miah.com>
config/Config-kernel.in

index 0cbe5e8..d2d1909 100644 (file)
@@ -65,6 +65,27 @@ config KERNEL_PROFILING
          Enable the extended profiling support mechanisms used by profilers such
          as OProfile.
 
+config KERNEL_TASKSTATS
+       bool "Compile the kernel with task resource/io statistics and accounting"
+       default n
+       help
+         Enable the collection and publishing of task/io statistics and
+         accounting.  Enable this option to enable i/o monitoring in system
+         monitors.
+
+if KERNEL_TASKSTATS
+
+       config KERNEL_TASK_DELAY_ACCT
+               def_bool y
+
+       config KERNEL_TASK_IO_ACCOUNTING
+               def_bool y
+
+       config KERNEL_TASK_XACCT
+               def_bool y
+
+endif
+
 config KERNEL_KALLSYMS
        bool "Compile the kernel with symbol table information"
        default y if !SMALL_FLASH