kernel: mtdsplit: wrgg: Support big and little endian
authorLinus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Mon, 11 Mar 2019 18:16:42 +0000 (19:16 +0100)
committerChristian Lamparter <chunkeey@gmail.com>
Wed, 13 Mar 2019 15:25:36 +0000 (16:25 +0100)
The WRGG images exist in both big and little endian variants,
as can be seen from the image generator in
tools/firmware-utils/src/mkwrggimg.c, you either pass
the "-b" flag or not. The D-Link DIR-685 is using little
endian images so we need to support splitting these.

Detect endianness like this: if the kernel entity size
gets silly big (bigger than the flash memory) we are
probably using the wrong endianness.

Example: my kernel of 0x0067ff64 was switched around by
wrong endianness and detected as 0x64ff67a0 (the actual
size in swapped endianness + header 0xa0).

Signed-off-by: Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: Christian Lamparter <chunkeey@gmail.com>
target/linux/generic/files/drivers/mtd/mtdsplit/mtdsplit_wrgg.c

index 5ce7625..6c137c5 100644 (file)
@@ -72,6 +72,16 @@ static int mtdsplit_parse_wrgg(struct mtd_info *master,
        /* sanity checks */
        if (le32_to_cpu(hdr.magic1) == WRGG03_MAGIC) {
                kernel_ent_size = hdr_len + be32_to_cpu(hdr.size);
+               /*
+                * If this becomes silly big it's probably because the
+                * WRGG image is little-endian.
+                */
+               if (kernel_ent_size > master->size)
+                       kernel_ent_size = hdr_len + le32_to_cpu(hdr.size);
+
+               /* Now what ?! It's neither */
+               if (kernel_ent_size > master->size)
+                       return -EINVAL;
        } else if (le32_to_cpu(hdr.magic1) == WRG_MAGIC) {
                kernel_ent_size = sizeof(struct wrg_header) + le32_to_cpu(
                                  ((struct wrg_header*)&hdr)->size);