ar8216: reduce latency by inserting scheduling points into code hogging the CPU
authorFelix Fietkau <nbd@nbd.name>
Sat, 7 Apr 2018 11:02:08 +0000 (13:02 +0200)
committerFelix Fietkau <nbd@nbd.name>
Sun, 8 Apr 2018 07:14:23 +0000 (09:14 +0200)
Should reduce network related latency caused by accessing MIB counters

Signed-off-by: Felix Fietkau <nbd@nbd.name>
target/linux/generic/files/drivers/net/phy/ar8216.c

index 6181137..7512ee1 100644 (file)
@@ -355,6 +355,7 @@ ar8xxx_reg_wait(struct ar8xxx_priv *priv, u32 reg, u32 mask, u32 val,
                        return 0;
 
                usleep_range(1000, 2000);
+               cond_resched();
        }
 
        return -ETIMEDOUT;
@@ -426,6 +427,7 @@ ar8xxx_mib_fetch_port_stat(struct ar8xxx_priv *priv, int port, bool flush)
                        mib_stats[i] = 0;
                else
                        mib_stats[i] += t;
+               cond_resched();
        }
 }
 
@@ -565,6 +567,7 @@ ar8216_wait_bit(struct ar8xxx_priv *priv, int reg, u32 mask, u32 val)
                        break;
 
                udelay(10);
+               cond_resched();
        }
 
        pr_err("ar8216: timeout on reg %08x: %08x & %08x != %08x\n",
@@ -730,8 +733,10 @@ ar8216_wait_atu_ready(struct ar8xxx_priv *priv, u16 r2, u16 r1)
 {
        int timeout = 20;
 
-       while (ar8xxx_mii_read32(priv, r2, r1) & AR8216_ATU_ACTIVE && --timeout)
-                udelay(10);
+       while (ar8xxx_mii_read32(priv, r2, r1) & AR8216_ATU_ACTIVE && --timeout) {
+               udelay(10);
+               cond_resched();
+       }
 
        if (!timeout)
                pr_err("ar8216: timeout waiting for atu to become ready\n");