build: allow calling append-dtb from image build commands
authorFelix Fietkau <nbd@nbd.name>
Thu, 2 Nov 2017 12:28:26 +0000 (13:28 +0100)
committerFelix Fietkau <nbd@nbd.name>
Thu, 2 Nov 2017 15:01:18 +0000 (16:01 +0100)
mpc85xx uses this for firmware image files, since the dtb data is not
directly part of the kernel image. This causes build failures in the
image builder.

Fix this by adding a separate build step that runs this call earlier,
reusing the generated file for any calls from kernel or image build
commands.

Signed-off-by: Felix Fietkau <nbd@nbd.name>
include/image-commands.mk
include/image.mk

index aaece70..1ec5252 100644 (file)
@@ -102,8 +102,7 @@ define Build/tplink-safeloader
 endef
 
 define Build/append-dtb
-       $(call Image/BuildDTB,$(if $(DEVICE_DTS_DIR),$(DEVICE_DTS_DIR),$(DTS_DIR))/$(DEVICE_DTS).dts,$@.dtb)
-       cat $@.dtb >> $@
+       cat $(KDIR)/image-$(firstword $(DEVICE_DTS)).dtb >> $@
 endef
 
 define Build/install-dtb
index fc6bf06..9ab139c 100644 (file)
@@ -435,7 +435,23 @@ define Device/Build/compile
 
 endef
 
+ifndef IB
+define Device/Build/dtb
+  $(KDIR)/image-$(1).dtb: FORCE
+       $(call Image/BuildDTB,$(2)/$(1).dts,$$@)
+
+  $(3): $(KDIR)/image-$(1).dtb
+endef
+endif
+
 define Device/Build/kernel
+  $$(eval $$(foreach dts,$$(DEVICE_DTS), \
+       $$(call Device/Build/dtb,$$(dts), \
+               $$(if $$(DEVICE_DTS_DIR),$$(DEVICE_DTS_DIR),$$(DTS_DIR)),\
+               $$(KDIR_KERNEL_IMAGE) $(KDIR)/$$(KERNEL_INITRAMFS_NAME) \
+       ) \
+  ))
+
   $(KDIR)/$$(KERNEL_NAME):: image_prepare
   $$(_TARGET): $$(if $$(KERNEL_INSTALL),$(BIN_DIR)/$$(KERNEL_IMAGE))
   $(call Device/Export,$$(KDIR_KERNEL_IMAGE),$(1))