sdk: do not strip static libraries
authorJo-Philipp Wich <jo@mein.io>
Wed, 18 Jan 2017 02:15:31 +0000 (03:15 +0100)
committerJo-Philipp Wich <jo@mein.io>
Wed, 18 Jan 2017 02:18:53 +0000 (03:18 +0100)
Do not strip static libraries shipped with the SDK in order to preserve the
archive index. If we strip the index of the shipped libraries, host programs
will fail to link these libraries with errors like:

    libssl.a: error adding symbols: Archive has no index; run ranlib to add one

The error was found while investigating a Python host build failure within
the SDK environment.

Signed-off-by: Jo-Philipp Wich <jo@mein.io>
target/sdk/Makefile

index e9599c3..496f025 100644 (file)
@@ -92,7 +92,7 @@ $(BIN_DIR)/$(SDK_NAME).tar.xz: clean
                find \
                        $(SDK_BUILD_DIR)/$(STAGING_SUBDIR_HOST)/lib \
                        $(SDK_BUILD_DIR)/$(STAGING_SUBDIR_HOST)/usr/lib \
-                       -type f -name \*.so\* -or -name \*.a; \
+                       -type f -name \*.so\*; \
        ) | xargs strip 2>/dev/null >/dev/null
 
        mkdir -p $(SDK_BUILD_DIR)/target/linux