kexec-tools: issue warning when dd'ing vmcore
authorPhilip Prindeville <philipp@redfish-solutions.com>
Sat, 16 Sep 2017 16:16:29 +0000 (10:16 -0600)
committerJohn Crispin <john@phrozen.org>
Sun, 11 Feb 2018 15:05:48 +0000 (16:05 +0100)
With no warning, it just looks like the box has hung during boot.

We don't want users resetting it without having captured a crashdump.

Signed-off-by: Philip Prindeville <philipp@redfish-solutions.com>
package/boot/kexec-tools/Makefile
package/boot/kexec-tools/files/kdump.init

index 1c686a2..71a10b2 100644 (file)
@@ -9,7 +9,7 @@ include $(TOPDIR)/rules.mk
 
 PKG_NAME:=kexec-tools
 PKG_VERSION:=2.0.14
-PKG_RELEASE:=1
+PKG_RELEASE:=2
 
 PKG_SOURCE:=$(PKG_NAME)-$(PKG_VERSION).tar.xz
 PKG_SOURCE_URL:=@KERNEL/linux/utils/kernel/kexec
index 057b8cc..6a6a94c 100755 (executable)
@@ -43,8 +43,10 @@ run_kdump() {
        timestamp=$(date "+%Y%m%dT%H%M%S")
 
        if [ "$save_vmcore" -eq 1 ]; then
+               echo -n "Saving vmcore (this may take a while)..."
                # would like 'sparse' but busybox doesn't support it
                dd if=/proc/vmcore of="$path/vmcore-$timestamp" conv=fsync bs=1M
+               echo " done"
        fi
 
        if [ "$save_dmesg" -eq 1 ]; then