toolchain/gcc: use version 7.x for x86 by default
authorFelix Fietkau <nbd@nbd.name>
Wed, 21 Feb 2018 19:31:05 +0000 (20:31 +0100)
committerFelix Fietkau <nbd@nbd.name>
Wed, 21 Feb 2018 19:57:30 +0000 (20:57 +0100)
This is needed for retpoline support, which mitigates the spectre
attacks.

Signed-off-by: Felix Fietkau <nbd@nbd.name>
toolchain/gcc/Config.in
toolchain/gcc/Config.version

index 30ac137..1456985 100644 (file)
@@ -3,6 +3,7 @@
 choice
        prompt "GCC compiler Version" if TOOLCHAINOPTS
        default GCC_USE_VERSION_7_1_ARC if arc
+       default GCC_USE_VERSION_7 if x86_64 || i386
        default GCC_USE_VERSION_5
        help
          Select the version of gcc you wish to use.
index b641cfe..2fc5082 100644 (file)
@@ -2,9 +2,14 @@ config GCC_VERSION_7_1_ARC
        default y if (!TOOLCHAINOPTS && arc)
        bool
 
+config GCC_VERSION_7
+       default y if GCC_USE_VERSION_7
+       default y if x86_64 || i386
+       bool
+
 config GCC_VERSION
        string
        default "arc-2017.09-release"   if GCC_VERSION_7_1_ARC
        default "6.3.0"         if GCC_USE_VERSION_6
-       default "7.3.0"         if GCC_USE_VERSION_7
+       default "7.3.0"         if GCC_VERSION_7
        default "5.5.0"