x86: Fix xen serial console by removing conflicting PATA driver
authorBaptiste Jonglez <git@bitsofnetworks.org>
Sat, 15 Jul 2017 20:57:54 +0000 (22:57 +0200)
committerFelix Fietkau <nbd@nbd.name>
Mon, 16 Oct 2017 07:43:35 +0000 (09:43 +0200)
The Xen serial console has been broken since the xen_domu subtarget
was merged in the generic x86 subtarget (commits 296772f9 and b36e24f3).

The reason for the broken serial console seems to be an IRQ conflict
between the serial console driver and the PATA_LEGACY driver:

[    1.330125] genirq: Flags mismatch irq 8. 00000000 (hvc_console) vs. 00000000 (platform[pata_legacy.4])
[    1.330134] hvc_open: request_irq failed with rc -16.
[    1.330148] Warning: unable to open an initial console.

Just drop the PATA_LEGACY driver from the x86/generic and x86_64
subtargets, since this driver is marked experimental and only supports
very old ISA devices anyway.  It is still included in the x86/legacy
subtarget where it rightfully belongs.

Fixes: FS#787

Signed-off-by: Baptiste Jonglez <git@bitsofnetworks.org>
target/linux/x86/64/config-default
target/linux/x86/generic/config-default

index 848f041..9948c28 100644 (file)
@@ -204,7 +204,6 @@ CONFIG_PARAVIRT_SPINLOCKS=y
 # CONFIG_PARAVIRT_TIME_ACCOUNTING is not set
 CONFIG_PATA_AMD=y
 CONFIG_PATA_ATIIXP=y
-CONFIG_PATA_LEGACY=y
 CONFIG_PATA_MPIIX=y
 CONFIG_PATA_OLDPIIX=y
 CONFIG_PATA_PLATFORM=y
index c4ca4fd..a0472f3 100644 (file)
@@ -260,7 +260,6 @@ CONFIG_PARAVIRT_SPINLOCKS=y
 # CONFIG_PARAVIRT_TIME_ACCOUNTING is not set
 CONFIG_PATA_AMD=y
 CONFIG_PATA_ATIIXP=y
-CONFIG_PATA_LEGACY=y
 CONFIG_PATA_MPIIX=y
 CONFIG_PATA_OLDPIIX=y
 CONFIG_PATA_PLATFORM=y